FINANCIAL INFORMATION


Fee Payment Policy

Graduate Student Fees

Fees and Expenses Beyond Matriculation Fees

General Refunds

Non -Refundable Fees

Graduation Fee

Student Motor Vehicle Parking Fee

Out-of-State Fee

Student Activity Fee

Transcript Fee




Fee Payment Policy

All fees are payable by the registration deadline published for each semester.   Payments may be made in cash or by check payable in U.S. currency and drawn on a financial institution located in the State of Georgia.  Albany State reserves the right to determine the acceptability of checks, and all checks not drawn as above will be returned to the remitter.   Money orders, certified checks, traveler's checks, MasterCard, Visa and personal checks will be accepted, provided that the check is presented with acceptable identification. If a check given in payment of a student's fees, books or supplies is not paid when presented to the bank or financial institution upon which it is drawn, the student will be charged a return check fee of $20 or five percent (5%) of the face amount of the check, whichever is greater Any person who submits an "insufficient funds" or “no account” check may not only be suspended from the University but may also face legal prosecution. No transmittal of credits in any form will be made by the University or its personnel for a student with outstanding financial obligations to the University.


The University reserves the right to change without previous notice its fees, charges, rules and regulations at the beginning of each semester; however, this right is exercised cautiously and reluctantly.



Graduate Student Fees


Matriculation (Fewer than 9 hours per semester credit hour)

$154.00 per hour

Non-Resident Tuition (Fewer than 9 hours per semester credit hour).

$614.00 per hour



Fees and Expenses Beyond Matriculation Fees

Parking (Motor Vehicle) Fee

$15.00

Graduation Fee

$111.00

Applied Music (per course) Fee

$65.00

Transcript Fee

$3.00

Health Service Fee

$45.00

Student Activity Fee

$46.00

Student Athletic Fee..

$152.00

Technology Fee

$38.00


Late Registration Penalty Fee (Failure to register within the dates set) first day


(Thereafter, the late fee increases $5 each subsequent day to deadline date)

$35.00

Returned Check Fee (Or 5% of face amount of check, whichever is greater)

$20.00


All fees and charges are payable at the time of registration. Remittance should be made payable to Albany State University and addressed as follows:

Office of Fiscal Affairs

Albany State University

Albany, Georgia 31705


Please include the name and social security number of the student for whom payment is intended when fees are sent by mail.



General Refunds

In accordance with the refund policy of the Board of Regents, refunds will be made on institutional charges and other mandatory fees upon a students total withdrawal from the institution. The refund amount for a student withdrawing from the institution shall be based on a prorata percentage, determined by dividing the number of calendar days in the semester that the student completed by the total calendar days in the semester. The total calendar days in a semester will include the weekends but will exclude scheduled breaks of five or more days in which a student was on an approved leave of absence.


A student is eligible to retain only the percentage of Title IV aid disbursed that is equal to the percentage of the enrollment period completed by the student. The unearned Title IV aid must be returned to the appropriate federal aid program(s). Students who withdraw from the institution when the calculated percentage of completion is greater than 60 percent are not entitled to a refund of any proportion of institutional charges, and no Title IV aid needs to be returned. When one withdraws prior to the first day of class, he/she is entitled to a 100 percent refund. A refund of all tuition and other mandatory fees shall be made in the event of death of a student at any time during the academic year.


The student is responsible for returning the unearned Title IV Program assistance for which the school is not required to return. The amount to be returned is the net amount disbursed from each source in the same order required by the school  (Unsubsidized FFEL/Direct Stafford Loan, Subsidized FFEL/Direct Stafford Loan, Perkins Loan, FFEL/Direct PLUS, Pell Grant, FSEOG and other Title IV programs) less the portion returned to the respective source(s) by the school. Loan proceeds are returned in accordance with the terms of the promissory note.


Any student who wishes to withdraw from the University must secure a withdrawal form from the Office of Academic Services and Registrar, complete it and have it approved by the Registrar, Director of Financial Operations, Vice President for Student Affairs and Director of Financial Aid. The student must file a copy in each office and will then be eligible for a refund of fees in accordance with the above policy.



Non -Refundable Fees

The following fees are non-refundable:

Admission Fee

Graduation Fee

Music Fee

Parking Fee

Dormitory Deposits are refundable after four years or upon graduation, minus any applied charges such as dormitory damage.

Application Processing Fee


Upon application to a graduate program or for certification, an applicant to a graduate program must submit a non-refundable application fee of twenty dollars ($20).  The application fee does not apply toward registration fees.



Graduation Fee

All candidates for graduation must file a formal application for graduation ONE SEMESTER IN ADVANCE OF THEIR EXPECTED COMPLETION DATE. Graduation fees are subject to change each year. Information about current fees can be obtained from the Office of Fiscal Affairs, Academic Building, Room 170, or from the Graduate Admissions Office, 291 ACAD Building.



Student Motor Vehicle Parking Fee

All motor vehicles operated on the campus must be registered with the Office of Public Safety A valid insurance card and the State Vehicle Registration are required to register a vehicle, and an official permit and parking decal must be assigned before the vehicle may be operated on campus.  Decals must be displayed on the vehicle.


Students parking vehicles in unauthorized areas, visitors' spaces or reserved spaces will be subject to fines and/or removal of the vehicle at the students expense.


A student parking permit costs $15 annually and must be purchased by the deadline posted by the Office of Public Safety.   Payment should be by cash or check pre-approved by the Business Office. Temporary permits are available for persons having previously purchased permits or occasionally driving other vehicles.



Out-of-State Fee

Students who are not residents of Georgia must pay an out-of-state tuition fee in addition to all other fees. The out-of-state fee charge is $614 per semester hour or $7,669 maximum tuition charge per semester.



Student Activity Fee

A comprehensive fee of $281 is required of any student enrolled for six or more semester hours.  This fee entitles the student to special admission rates to lyceum features, athletic events, etc., as well as use of the University Health Services.



Transcript Fee

Students may request "student copies" or "transmittal of office copies" of their permanent academic listing of credits (transcripts) at the Office of Academic Services and Registrar.   No fee is charged for the first copy A fee of $3 (three dollars) is charged for each additional transcript. Five to seven working days should be allowed for the processing of an "official" transcript.  ASU transcripts may be ordered for the student's graduate file through the Graduate Admissions Office at no charge.